About Myanmar

Myanmar (formerly Burma) is a Southeast Asian nation of more than 100 ethnic groups, bordering India, Bangladesh, China, Laos and Thailand. Yangon (formerly Rangoon), the country’s largest city, is home to bustling markets, numerous parks and lakes, and the towering, gilded Shwedagon Pagoda, which contains Buddhist relics and dates to the 6th century.

Other important Buddhist sites include the ancient city of Bagan, studded with more than 2,000 temples and pagodas, and Kyaiktiyo Pagoda, perched atop a rock at the edge of a steep hillside. Cruises along Burma’s Irrawaddy River take in historic landmarks, such as the 19th-century Mandalay Palace, and rural scenery. Visitors in motorboats and fishermen propelling skiffs cross Inle Lake, which is lined with villages on stilts and colorful markets. Along Burma’s Bay of Bengal coast, Ngapali is a palm-lined, upscale beach resort area.


The union of Myanmar is 2,61,228 square miles (676,578 square kilometers). It stretches for 582 miles (936 kilometers) from east to west and 1,275 miles (2,051 kilometers) from north to south.

The length of contiguous frontier is 3,828 miles (6,129 kilometers), sharing 1,370 miles with China, 1,310 miles with Thailand, 832 miles with India, 1,687 miles with Bangladesh and 148 miles with Laos respectively. The length of the coastline from the mouth of Naaf River to Kawthaung is approximately 1,385 miles.

The Union of Myanmar is geographically situated in Southeast Asia between latitudes 9° 32′ N and 28° 31′ N and longitudes 92° 10′ E and 101° 11′ E.

The People’s Republic of China borders Myanmar on the north and northeast on the east and southeast by the Lao People’s Democratic Republic and the Kingdom of Thailand, on the south by the Andaman Sea and the Bay of Bengal and on the west by the People’s Republic of Bangladesh and the Republic of India.

General Information of Country

Land Area 676,578 sq km
President Htin Kyaw
Political System Parliamentary Democracy
Administrative Capital Nay Pyi Taw
Commercial Capital Yangon (Rangoon)
Population 53.26 Million

Major National Ethnic Race

Myanmar is a union of 135 ethnic groups with their own language and dialects. The major races are Kachin, Kayah, Kayin, Chin, Mon, Bamar, Rakhine, and Shan. The name Myanmar embraces all the ethnic groups.


The major religion is Buddhism although Christianity, Islam and Hinduism are also practiced. Over 80 percents of Myanmar embraces are Theravada Buddhism.


National Language is Myanmar and other ethnic language are also used. English is widely used in Myanmar.

Climate and Temperature

Myanmar has a largely tropical climate with three seasons:

The monsoon or rainy season, from May to October; (Average Temperature; 25 to 30 degree centigrade) Rainfall during the monsoon season totals more than 500 cm in upper Myanmar and over 250 cm in lower Myanmar and Yangon (formerly Rangoon).

The cool season, from November to February (Average Temperature ; 20 to 24 degree centigrade) and the coldest time is December to February. This is the best tourist season to visit Myanmar.

The hot season, generally March to April (Average Temperature 30 to 45 degree centigrade). The climate in upper Myanmar, particularly at altitudes ranging from about 300 to 1,220 m is the most temperate throughout the year, while lower Myanmar, especially in the delta and coastal regions, is the most humid.


Myanmar lies on the crossroad of two of the world’s great civilizations China and India but its cultural is neither that of Indian nor that of China exclusively, but a blend of both interspersed with Myanmar native traits and characteristics. Buddhism has great influence on daily life life of the Myanmar. The people have preserved the traditions of close family ties, respect for the elders, reverence for Buddhisn and simple native dress. People are contented and cheerful even in the face of adversities and known for their simply hospitality and friendliness.

Local Time Zone

Myanmar’s Standard time is UTC+0630 of GMT.


Electricity Domestic Power A.C 220-250 V, 50 Hz.


The Myanmar Kyat is the currency in Myanmar ( Burma, MM and MMR ). The symbol for MMK can be written K. The Myanmar Kyat is divided into 100 pyas.
Kyat ( Ks ) = 100 Pyas